Claudette Happyjack is native of the Cree community of Waswanipi. Early in her life she developed a love of travelling. Her overwhelming sense of curiosity and irresistible desire for exploration led her to carve her own life path, an exceptional life path. She started painting during her time in the open plains of Saskatchewan; she took up again with painting when she returned to Abitibi-Témiscamingue. Her journey took her to Val-d’Or in 2016. When she saw the slim silhouette of black spruce, she felt at home and decided to settle there. It didn’t take long for Claudette to carve out a place for herself and leave her mark. Visitors can admire her characters in movement at Parc Bérard, where she participated in a vibrant collective work as part of a cultural outreach project called Orignal (Moose). She is involved with the administrative board of the Val-d’Or Native Friendship Centre. Today, Claudette has it at heart to inspire the Aboriginal youth to be proud of their origins and trace a future at their image.

“When I paint, I’m the real me. I enter my own world.”

In her early twenties, fitting the mold was something Claudette just could not consider. While many settled and started a family, she took the road to discover western Canada. She describes herself as the living illustration of the female characters dancing and wearing shawls she loves to paint, i.e., constantly in motion. At the birth of her son, she felt the time had come to return to her community. The young mother wanted her child to grow in his cultural environment and mother tongue. She offered him the chance she did not have in her childhood, having been raised in a foster home. Doing so offered her the opportunity to catch up with her mother, who taught her the art of beading and making moccasins and mitts. Though she has always questioned the established order, she feels closely connected to her culture and is proud of it.

“I’ve always been a positive person, and that’s what I want to transmit the young people. I want to teach them to do what they want to do and never let anyone discourage them. I want them to spread their wings and fly. I want the Aboriginal people to be proud of who they are.”

Claudette Happyjack is not one who lets herself be discouraged. When she moved to Val-d’Or, she spent the first three months on the streets before renting a room and, later, moving to the apartment where she now lives with her 20-year old son. She loves her new home; from her kitchen, where she paints, she enjoys watching the sun go down behind trees. Nature has never stopped inspiring her; she often returns to the woods to meditate, reconnect and revive her creativity.

“Life is an experience. Whatever the number of paths we take, we always end up learning, growing and discovering ourselves and that’s important!”

Press Review:

Murale à l’école de Val-d’Or (Radio-Canada, 2020)

Projet « Orignal » – Médiation culturelle au parc Bédard (Radio-Canada, 2019)

Profil d’artiste (l’Indice bohémien, 2019)

Photos: Marie-Raphaëlle LeBlond (portrait and paintings), Claudette Happyjack (mural), Daniel Gagné (Orignal project) et Harrison Happyjack (portrait Orignal project)

claudettehappyjack@hotmail.com
Go to Top

Claudette Happyjack est issue de la communauté crie de Waswanipi. Tôt dans sa vie, elle a répondu à l’appel du voyage. Sa curiosité dévorante et un désir irrépressible d’explorer l’ont amenée à se dessiner un parcours de vie hors de l’ordinaire. C’est durant son passage dans les plaines de la Saskatchewan qu’elle a épousé la peinture, avec laquelle elle renoue depuis son arrivée en Abitibi-Témiscamingue. Ses pas l’ont menée à Val-d’Or en 2016. Elle s’est sentie chez elle à la vue des silhouettes élancées des épinettes noires et a décidé d’y faire son nid. Claudette a rapidement su s’y tailler une place et y laisse déjà sa marque : on peut notamment admirer ses personnages aux traits dansants au parc Bérard, où elle a participé au projet de médiation culturelle « Orignal », lequel a permis la création d’une œuvre collective vibrante. Elle s’implique aussi auprès du conseil administratif du Centre d’amitié autochtone de Val-d’Or. Claudette a maintenant à cœur d’inspirer la jeunesse autochtone à être fière de ses origines et à se tracer un avenir à son image.

« Quand je fais [de la peinture], je suis vraiment moi. J’entre dans mon monde. »

Dans la jeune vingtaine, Claudette ne se voyait pas entrer dans le moule. Tandis que plusieurs s’enracinaient et fondaient des familles, elle a pris la route, à la découverte de l’Ouest canadien. Elle se dit à l’image de ces danseuses aux châles qu’elle aime tant peindre : toujours en mouvement. À la naissance de son fils, elle a senti qu’il était temps de retrouver sa communauté. La jeune mère souhaitait que son enfant grandisse dans sa culture, au son de sa langue. Elle lui a ainsi offert la chance qu’elle n’avait pas eue, ayant grandi en famille d’accueil. Ce fut aussi l’occasion de renouer avec sa propre mère, auprès de qui elle apprit la confection de mocassins et de mitaines ainsi que le perlage. Bien que Claudette ait toujours questionné l’ordre établi, elle se sent proche de sa culture et en est fière :

« J’ai toujours été une personne positive et c’est ce que je veux enseigner aux jeunes : ‘Faites ce que vous voulez faire et ne laissez personne vous décourager. Je veux que les jeunes décollent de leur roche, qu’ils fassent pousser leurs propres ailes et qu’ils s’envolent. Je veux que les Autochtones soient fiers d’être qui ils sont. »

Claudette n’est pas de celles qui se laissent abattre. À son arrivée à Val-d’Or, elle a passé les trois premiers mois dans la rue avant de louer une chambre, puis l’appartement où elle habite aujourd’hui avec son grand garçon de 20 ans. Elle aime son nouveau chez elle, d’où elle peut contempler le coucher du soleil sur les arbres de sa table de cuisine, son atelier. La nature ne cesse de l’inspirer et elle y retourne régulièrement pour se recueillir et reconnecter avec sa créativité.

« La vie est une expérience. Quel que soit le nombre de chemins qu’on emprunte, on finit toujours par apprendre, grandir et se découvrir et ça, c’est important! »

claudettehappyjack@hotmail.com
Aller en haut