Melissa Etapp is a cultural transmitter of Cree and Anishinaabe heritage. The Val-d’Or resident has an impressively large spectrum of knowledge, which she communicates with pleasure, humility and open mind. Sharing knowledge is her own way of contributing to reconciliation among peoples and cultures. She believes that mutual knowledge is the foundation upon which trust can be built. Meeting people, interacting with them and creating true moments of exchange bring meaning to her work. In 2017, her journey led her to her second home: Kinawit.

“When I share my culture, I feel happy, I feel proud: I am proud of who I am. Awareness and knowledge: this is what society needs and it’s good when people can take that home with them.”

For Melissa, sharing Aboriginal culture is a privileged means for increasing awareness of its importance and helping people understand and appreciate it. By accepting to open up, we give other people the opportunity to get to know us and initiate true interaction based on mutual respect. This motivates Melissa to offer all visitors the best possible learning experience. In addition to being a guide at Kinawit Center, Melissa regularly participates in community-based cooking workshops.

Born to an Anishinaabe mother from Lac-Simon and a Cree father from Mistassini, Melissa grew up watching her parents live in harmony with their culture. Her father spent much of his time in the forest carrying out activities that Melissa found particularly interesting, such as wood and bark harvesting, trapping and hunting. That is what the young Melissa wanted to do in life. It did not prevent her from learning how to cook with products from the forest and to make mitts and moccasins with her mother by her side.

“Living my culture is important to me, as much as spending time with family I would say. Family and culture go hand in hand.”

Even today, Melissa particularly appreciates spending time with her father in the forest to hunt moose. Her father taught her the right techniques for successful hunting, but also the Anishinaabe values relating to subsistence hunt such as sharing, respect and nature. She is proud of having received an education fully in tune with tradition. Today, Melissa honors this heritage by living a healthy life, continuing her education on traditional knowledge, and pursuing her studies. Melissa will soon have a diploma in Administration.

Telephone

123 456-6789
Go to Top

Melissa Etapp est une passeuse culturelle de Val-d’Or. À la fois Crie et Anicinabekwe, Melissa détient un éventail de savoirs impressionnant qu’elle communique dans le plaisir, l’humilité et l’ouverture. Partager son savoir est sa façon de s’impliquer dans la réconciliation des peuples : la connaissance mutuelle, selon elle, est la fondation sur laquelle il est possible de construire la confiance. Rencontrer des gens et vivre des moments d’échange authentiques avec eux, c’est ce qui donne tout son sens à son travail. Son chemin l’a menée au Centre Kinawit en 2017, où elle s’est découvert un second chez-soi. 

« Quand je partage ma culture, je me sens heureuse, je suis fière : je suis fière de qui je suis. Sensibilisation et connaissance: c’est ce dont la société a besoin et c’est bien quand les gens peuvent le rapporter à la maison. »

Pour Melissa, partager la culture autochtone est une manière privilégiée de sensibiliser les gens à son importance et de leur permettre de la comprendre, de l’apprécier. En apprenant à s’ouvrir, on offre à l’autre l’opportunité de nous connaître et d’initier un échange véritable fondé sur le respect mutuel. C’est ce qui la motive à offrir à chacun de ses visiteurs la meilleure expérience d’apprentissage possible. En plus de ses fonctions de guide au Centre Kinawit, où elle participe aussi régulièrement aux ateliers de cuisine communautaire.

Née d’une mère anicinabe de Lac-Simon et d’un père cri de Mistassini, Melissa a grandi en observant ses parents pratiquer leur culture. Son père passait beaucoup de temps en forêt et ce qu’il y faisait l’intéressait tout particulièrement : la récolte du bois et de l’écorce, la chasse, la trappe… Voilà ce que, jeune fille, elle voulait faire. Cela ne l’a pas empêchée d’apprendre à cuisiner les produits de la forêt et à confectionner mocassins et mitaines pour s’y aventurer aux côtés de sa mère.

« Pratiquer ma culture est aussi important pour moi que de passer du temps en famille. Famille et culture vont de pair. »

Encore aujourd’hui, Melissa apprécie particulièrement passer du temps en forêt avec son père où ils chassent l’orignal ensemble. Son père lui a non seulement enseigné les techniques nécessaires à une chasse réussie, mais aussi les valeurs anicinabe qui l’accompagnent, telles le partage et le respect de la nature. Elle est fière d’avoir été éduquée de cette façon, en harmonie avec la tradition. Aujourd’hui, Melissa honore cet héritage en soignant sa vie et poursuit son apprentissage du savoir traditionnel et ses études! Melissa sera sous peu diplômée en administration.

Aller en haut