Pierrette Mowatt is a skilled and experienced artisan from the Anishinaabe community of Pikogan. Introduced to manual arts in her childhood, she continued her learning process with her elders. Today she proudly carries on their heritage. A multi-skilled artisan, Pierre Mowatt masters the art of sewing, beading, jewelry making, embroidery, and traditional leather accessory making. She considers that craft-making is a fine school of life, and she puts the best of herself into it.

“Handicraft making is like a therapy: you need to be patient, stay calm and take your time.”

Pierrette Mowatt took an interest in handicraft at a very young age. As a child, she enjoyed watching her mother. She started learning from her when, at 15, she decided to try her hands at it. Encouraged by the contagious joy and enthusiasm of artisans from her community, she took courses in Pikogan, then Amos. She is particularly pleased to have had the chance to learn from elders and is very proud to honor their heritage in her work. While many of them have passed away, their know-how continues to live through her. Today, Pierrette Mowatt teaches to youngsters and adults in Pikogan; she sometimes welcomes groups from outside her community.

Pierrette’s work is done with a great deal of precision and reflects great wisdom. She believes that calm and tranquility are at the source of the finest creative ideas, and therefore seeks the quietude she needs to create. Each one of her work is made expertly with great care, precision and diligenceß.

Pierrette Mowatt takes orders and exhibits her works regularly at cultural events and pow-wows.

Telephone

123 456-6789
Go to Top

Pierrette Mowatt est une artisane chevronnée de la communauté anicinabe de Pikogan. Initiée aux arts manuels dès son jeune âge, elle poursuivit son apprentissage auprès de ses aînés, dont elle porte aujourd’hui fièrement l’héritage. Pierrette compte de nombreuses cordes à son arc : elle maîtrise la couture, le travail des perles, la confection de bijoux, la broderie et la confection d’accessoires de cuir traditionnels. L’artisanat, pour Pierrette, est une belle école de la vie et elle y met le meilleur d’elle-même :

« Pour faire de l’artisanat, il faut être patient, il faut être bien calme, ne pas aller trop vite. C’est comme une thérapie. »

Pierrette a développé un intérêt pour l’artisanat dès sa jeunesse. Enfant, elle voyait sa mère s’affairer et elle aimait l’observer. Sa mère lui enseigna la première lorsque, à 15 ans, Pierrette décida de se faire la main. Encouragée par la joie contagieuse des artisans de son entourage, elle s’inscrivit à des cours dans sa communauté, puis à Amos. Pierrette est particulièrement heureuse d’avoir eu la chance d’apprendre auprès des aînés et elle est fière d’honorer leur héritage dans son travail; bien que plusieurs d’entre eux se soient éteints, leur savoir-faire continue de vivre en elle. Pierrette enseigne à son tour aux jeunes et aux adultes de Pikogan et reçoit occasionnellement des groupes de l’extérieur.

Le travail de Pierrette est d’une grande précision et exprime une grande sagesse. C’est dans le calme, pense-t-elle, que les plus belles idées émergent et elle cherche la quiétude pour créer. Chaque pièce est confectionnée avec soin, d’une main experte.

Pierrette accepte les commandes et expose régulièrement son travail dans les évènements culturels tels les pow-wow.

Aller en haut